Raptors’ Superfan is a Superhero in his community

Nav Bhatia conducts the majority of his business out of his personal office. Some might call it a Raptors' shrine.

By JENNIFER ROMANO

Chatting in the office of his Mississauga Hyundai dealership, Nav Bhatia pauses to answer the phone. It’s a representative from the Toronto Raptors asking when Marcus Banks’ car will be ready.

“I have to pick up the Range Rover for Marcus. He wants a silver one, so I’ll get him a silver one,” he said.

Bhatia, 58, will do anything for the Raptors. Whether it’s cheering courtside or doing favours for players off the court, he’s dedicated to the team.

As a season ticket holder from day one, he’s never missed a home game. Fans and the organization refer to him as Superfan, and in some cases, the Turbanator.

After moving to Canada from India in 1985, he became a big fan of basketball. When Toronto put together an NBA team 10 years later, he wanted to use it as his escape from the ordinary.

“I don’t have any other addiction than the addiction of basketball,” he said. “I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I don’t womanize, and this is my only escape. I get to go there for three hours and it gives me my high.”

And like most addictions, it’s expensive. Bhatia spends more than $250,000 a year on the Raptors.

“I have 10 season tickets, six courtside and four on the platinum. Then I have some other tickets here and there for guests,” he said. “I take my friends to games around the U.S. If they want to go, we go.”

Bhatia uses his tickets to get other people involved in the sport, especially those who might otherwise never go to a game.

Since 1999, he’s hosted Baisakhi night at the Air Canada Centre, a celebration of the birth of the Sikh faith. He uses it as an opportunity to integrate his community into the mainstream.

“I want the mainstream to understand that we might look different, our ladies might wear different clothes, but we have the same passion and we have the same interests,” he said. “I believe I’ve been working over the past 12 years to do that.”

On event day, everything is dedicated to the Sikh culture. Indian music and the national anthem are played while a baby elephant delivers the game ball to centre court.

In 1995 you’d rarely see South Asian people with turbans in the crowd. He said he was the first one in his community to show support, and today, he’s integrated his community by giving away thousands of tickets to Sikh and Hindu mosques in the GTA. But, he doesn’t stop there. Bhatia provides under-privileged children at local YMCAs and at inner-city schools with free tickets.

Former vice principal of Beverly Heights middle school in North York, Deepa Karamjeet, remembers the day she met Bhatia.

“I went to get my oil changed at his dealership,” she said. “I knew who he was. I said, ‘Our children come from very poor economic conditions, is it possible to get some tickets?’ He said no problem and gave us 100.”

Karamjeet took all of her high-needs, high-risk students, along with some parents from the community to a Raptors game last March.

“They were just ecstatic,” she said. “ It was a great chance for them to see the real world, that there’s a world outside where they live. And that another community member made it happen.”

Bhatia said that he’s “been blessed to get to know a lot of players,” and that makes it easy for him to get kids autographs and gear to bring home.

The relationships are on display through out his office. Signed pictures of Ray Allen, Damon Stoudamire and Morris Peterson cover the walls.

“A lot of these guys are my boys,” he said. “I like to sit next to the opposing team. That way I can pick on the players and do some trash talking with the coaches and team. It’s all in good fun.”

Raptors commentator Jack Armstrong has been a member of the organization for 13 years, He not only sees Raptors players saying hello to Bhatia but also players and coaches from other teams.

“He’s a very passionate fan, but more importantly he’s very well liked and respected,” he said. “He represents the true fan, who is passionate and loyal. I appreciate that, and I know the coaches and players from both teams do too.”

Despite the predictions that the Raptors will finish last in the Eastern Conference this year, Bhatia said he’s “not a fair-weather fan,” and Armstrong appreciates that.

“We live in a society of front runners where everyone’s wearing a Yankees hat or LA Lakers hat because they’re the flavour of the month,” he said. “He’s an example of a fan that’s lived and died with the Raptors. Those are the people that I think about when the Raptors have a big win, those are the people you feel the best for because when the win comes, there’s nothing sweeter.”

Besides, Bhatia has made many friends in the league that would be disappointed if he weren’t around.  Former Raptor great Vince Carters for example.

“I was one of a couple people who were invited to his wedding,” he said. “I have a 10-year relationship with him that started when he was a Raptor. He’s like family and he considers me family,” he said. “I’ll be happy to see him when I take a trip to Orlando this season, even if I’m rooting for the other team.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment